1. K-State home
  2. »Engineering
  3. »ARE-CNS
  4. »Faculty & Staff
  5. »Faculty
  6. »Raphael A. Yunk

Architectural Engineering and Construction Science

Raphael A. Yunk | Professor

Photo of Raphael A. YunkM.S. - 2004, Kansas State University
Architectural Engineering
B.S. - 1988, Kansas State University
Architectural Engineering

Contact Information

2042 Seaton Hall

Professional Experience

Professor Yunk received a bachelor’s degree in architectural engineering in May 1988. He then worked for the National Park Service as a construction engineer, construction coordinator, project manager and construction quality leader. In January 2002, he joined the department of architectural engineering and construction science at Kansas State University. From 2006 to 2012, he served as the architectural engineering program coordinator. From 2013 to 2017, Yunk served as the department head of architectural engineering and construction science at K-State. He is a licensed professional engineer and a Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) accredited professional.


Yunk has been primarily on a teaching appointment, but does have research interests in the areas of building energy use as well as sustainable design and construction. He has taught classes, and given presentations and workshops about the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Green Building Rating System. He has chaired the Academic Council, served as president of the Board of Governors for the Architectural Engineering Institute (AEI) and serves on the Exam Development Committee for the Architectural Engineering Professional Engineering exam.

Academic Highlights

Yunk has taught nine different classes at all levels within the department. He has served as major professor for 14 master’s students and served on committees for 56 master’s students. Awards include the John W. and Dorothy M. Burke Architectural Engineering Chair, the Martin K. Eby Distinguished Professorship in Engineering, the Mark Keenan Family Faculty Award for National Leadership, the Mike and Karen Hafling ARE-CNS Faculty Teaching Award, and the Rich and Hannah Kerschen ARE-CNS Faculty Teaching Award.