1. K-State home
  2. »Engineering
  3. »ARE-CNS
  4. »Faculty & Staff
  5. »Faculty
  6. »Fred Hasler

Architectural Engineering and Construction Science

Fred Hasler, P.E. | Associate Professor

Photo of Fred HaslerJohn W. and Dorothy M. Burke Architectural Engineering Chair

Architectural Engineering Program Coordinator

M.S. - 2008, Kansas State University
Architectural Engineering
B.S. - 1981, Kansas State University
Architectural Engineering

Contact Information

2063 Seaton Hall

Professional Experience

At K-State, Hasler has taught several fundamental and advanced design courses related to mechanical, electrical and plumbing (MEP) systems for buildings. He also teaches the departmental capstone course for MEP students. In total, he has been responsible for teaching 10 different courses over the past 11 years. He is the program coordinator, which deals with curriculum and assessment issues. Hasler serves as the faculty advisor for K-State Illuminating Engineering Society (IES) student group.

Hasler is also a project manager and owner of an MEP consulting firm specializing in HVAC, plumbing, power, lighting, fire protection, and fire alarm for many types of commercial, institutional and retail buildings. Hasler’s certifications include LEED AP and GeoExchange Designer. He is a licensed professional engineer in Kansas and Texas.


Hasler’s research interests include lighting design, architectural lighting controls and application of lighting systems in buildings, including funded research to create professional educational materials for a major lighting controls company. He assisted the College of Engineering, K-State Engineering Extension and the City of Manhattan on various lighting design and installation studies.

Academic Highlights

In 2011, Hasler received the James L Hollis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. He has also received several ARE Department teaching awards, the Illuminating Engineering Society Presidential Award and the ASHRAE Student Branch Advisor of the Year award.  He coached the ASHRAE Student Design Competition winning teams in 2007, 2009, 2010, 2013 and 2014.